CTAUN’s 2003 Best Practices Award.


From left-to-right: Raymond Sommereyns,
Phyllis Hickey and Anne-Marie Carlson

Awards for the best educational practices developed from the 2003 CTAUN Conference were presented by Phyllis Hickey, Second Vice Chair of CTAUN and principal of St. Mary School in Putnam, CT, and Raymond Sommereyns, Director, UN Department of Public Information’s Outreach Division.

The theme of the 2003 Conference was “Literacy Now: Building an Educated World.” The awards were given to two educators who had developed and implemented programs in keeping with the theme over the past year:

Raymond Sommereyns announces that Joan S. Monk is a “Best Practices” award recipient

Joan S. Monk, Teacher, Yonkers Public Schools, Yonkers, NY — “Passport to the World” — a project using the power of fairy tales to move from inner peace to world peace.

Libby Curran and her group receiving the other “Best Practices” award

Libby Curran, Kearsage Area Children of Hope, Concord, NH — a multi-cultural reading buddy program.